Forum: Tips & Tricks

Thread: Using smartphone as bubble level and rotator.

back to threads list | this thread is closed
Search the forums:
messages 1-15 of 24
first prev Prev 1 2 next next last
Author  Message 
Jyrkka

Using smartphone as bubble level and rotator.
Posted: 29 Nov 2012 at 9:41 GMT
Hello Good Folks at this forum !!
I am a complete newbie, but a crazy one. I am trying to come up with an extremely compact and travel friendly pole setup. Using lightweight cameras like GoPro or Sony Nex I will try using two carbon fibre monopods schrewed together "top-to-top" .(these are the screw-off-monopods from two traveller tripods restuffed into one with two "monopods" and one without) With really light weight cameras I guess one could also add the center columns to increase height. This setup makes a pole of @ 4 meters and the weight of the complete thing is less than one kilo. And now to the really weird bit....
Suppose you attach a smartphone on the rod (aligned of course)with some bicycle holder (still looking for the perfect one) and then run a software like "Theodolite" (Free version is perfectly o.k.)on it. You would now on-screen have all you need for levelling the camera and also, using the compass, the aid for rotating the stuff through the correct angle increments. Background picture shows where your aiming.
Covering the phone camera lens will make scales easier to read. There is even a "crosshair based bubble level" on screen. WiFi enabled cameras open up further possibilities. The ideal app would be a large bubble level and some really clear indicator of the shooting angle plua a real time display of what the camera sees and a release button and .... well, like a GoPro app with a bubble level and a compass. I think I am on to something here. Any comments ???
//Jyrkka
alert moderator
Judy-A

Re: Using smartphone as bubble level and rotator.
Posted: 29 Nov 2012 at 15:43 GMT

Jyrkka said: