Forum: Tips & Tricks

Thread: My first few weeks doing Panos (problems)

back to threads list | this thread is closed
Search the forums:
messages 1-15 of 52
first prev Prev 1 2 3 4 next next last
Author  Message 
Birder

My first few weeks doing Panos (problems)
Posted: 20 May 2012 at 11:32 GMT
updated: 20 May 2012 at 11:34 GMT
I have been a hobbyist photographer for many years and recently was asked to do a pano tour for a mates new Pub in the UK.

A quick search on the net found me this site and loads of information, i downloaded the demos of software and spent several hours working out what i needed without breaking the bank.

I have several Canon cameras and chose my 7D to be my Pano camera, I have a couple of 18mm Canon lenses (18/55 and 18/135) so was soon out in the garden doing my first Pano with a normal tripod head.

I did 12 round and then started to stitch it. It was easy to get a cylindrical image but my mate wanted a full 360x180 pano

I had not enjoyed my photography so much for ages. More reading on this site and others and I decided on buying a Fisheye lens and a Pano head. I didn't want to spend a fortune and after seeing that a lot of forum members use the Samyang 8mm lens (Or its other names) i purchased a new one online from Glasgow. It arrived 5 days later from Poland but it was perfect.

Next was the Pano head, after reading on this site I had decided on a NN3 but could not find a NN3 in stock in the UK. Another search on the forum and I found Pano-Maxx, sort of a NN3 clone and found one in stock at Amazon UK so I ordered one. It arrived 6 days later from Germany.

Over the next few days I did a few practice panos around the house and using PTGui could stitch some of them. I found 4 round at -15 and a Zenith at +75 was best and stitched every time.