Forum: Q & A

Thread: Bonfires and crowd scenes

back to threads list | this thread is closed
Search the forums:
Author  Message 
Antilles

Bonfires and crowd scenes
Posted: 3 Oct 2008 at 9:56 GMT
I've been dabbling with panos for a few months now and I've been asked to do some panos at a fireworks display next month. I've seen some great examples on here but am not sure how they're accomplished.

My current setup is Nikon D70, Nikor 10.5mm, and NN3, used with a standard Manfrotto tripod. Can anyone provide me with some tips on what I'd need to shoot fireworks / crowd scenes at night?

I've had a think about this and there are a few issues I can think of:

- There's the obvious problem of not having rooms to set the tripod up, the examples I've seen say that a monopod may be better.
- How do you deal with issues such as camera shake?
- How do you keep the camera level on a monopod?
- How do you turn the camera, I guess I won't be able to use the NN3 for this? Is it a case of guesswork and turning by hand?
- How do you accomplish the zenith/nadir shots?

I guess what I'm looking for is a dummies guide...
alert moderator
Hans Nyberg

Re: Bonfires and crowd scenes
Posted: 3 Oct 2008 at 11:09 GMT
Fireworks in panoramas with people is very difficult.
Here is an event I did recently
www.panoramas.dk/2008/ildregatta-silkeborg/

The classic way of shooting fireworks is using very long exposure.
4-8 seconds at 100 ASA and f11- 16.
However this may be difficult to do in panoramas with people arround.
You will just get black surroundings with that exposure.
The first pano you see is made with 2 cameras. 1 only directed at the fireworks and shooting it the classic way.
The pano was shot at 800 ASA f2,8 2sec.

The other fireworks pano is made very different. Camera on monopod handheld about 1 m above the head. You just turn the monopod around.
I use a wireless remote
Exposure 800ASA 1/40 sec at full aperture f2,8 Shaved Nikkor 10,5 on a Canon 5D.