Search the forums:
messages 1-15 of 22
first prev Prev 1 2 next next last
Author  Message 
Panoavia

Another amateuer needs advice please
Posted: 14 Apr 2013 at 19:58 GMT
Hi there,

first of all I would like to introduce myself before I start bothering you with stupid questions. I am a pilot and an aviaion enthusiast who happens to do some plane spotting once in a while but nothing professional so far.

Somehow I saw a virtual tour of a challenger coorporate jet and was blown away by the crisp picture. Immediatley I started researching how this was made and now found this forum.

My goal would be to be able to produce something similiar professional at the end of the journey and maybe even offer this as a service to some coorporate jet companies. I understand that this will take a lot of effort to get to this point and not happen overnight so please dont shoot me down for my naivety. blush

Now to my questions. How do I start out and which equipment should I consider. My budget would be around 2000 $. Through reading I found out a Nikon D7000 with a Sigma 8mm or Samyang 8mm would be a good option. The Tripod should be Noda Ninja 3Mk II or 5.

Cheers smile
alert moderator
vrbali

Re: Another amateuer needs advice please
Posted: 16 Apr 2013 at 5:25 GMT
Welcome to the forum Panoavia.

First of all, I learned that there are no stupid questions, only stupid answers wink

Can you share a link to the virtual tour that you liked so much?

The setup with the D7000 and Sig 8mm or Samyang 8mm will be good to go and beside a (Nodal Ninja) tripod head, you also will need the tripod itself. Beside that you will have to buy some software to stitch the images and/or create a virtual tour with the resulting images.
Your budget (USD2000) for the setup described is a bit tight I am afraid.

VRBali
www.virtualvisitbali.com
alert moderator
MetroRuss

Posted: 16 Apr 2013 at 7:08 GMT
updated: 16 Apr 2013 at 7:11 GMT
Hi Panoavia,