Forum: Q & A

Thread: Which lens for immersive (QTVR) panoramas with a Canon 7D?

back to threads list | this thread is closed
Search the forums:
Author  Message 
zicitron

Which lens for immersive (QTVR) panoramas with a Canon 7D?
Posted: 15 Jan 2013 at 15:53 GMT
Hi all,

I'm new to panorama photography but not to photography itself. I am really impressed by some panos I've seen over here and on some other websites. Now, I want to get my feet wet and try the thing!

First of all, my current equipment is a Canon EOS 7D and a Tamron 17-50mm F2.8 lens. I've tried some basic panoramas and things have gone quite well. I understand that I need to get a pano head for better pano shots. So that's on my shopping list!

My main question is the following: I would also like to do a lot of QTVR panoramas and I've read somewhere that I will need a fish-eye lens for that (fixed focal lens). How far is that true? Won't my Tamron 17-50mm (27-80mm in 35mm terms) live up to the task? Or is it essential that I invest in a fish-eye lens? I would rather spend that money on a panorama head (like the Nodal Ninja), unless I have no choice than to buy the fish-eye lens!

Also, what do you people out there on a Mac use as the software of choice for creating QTVRs?

regards,
Ali
alert moderator
DorinDXN

Re: Which lens for immersive (QTVR) panoramas with a Canon 7D?
Posted: 15 Jan 2013 at 16:12 GMT
Hi Ali, a fish-eye will help you to reduce the number of shots needed for a panorama at expense of resolution/final size in pixels e.g. from around 30 photos to 4-6 photos for a full spherical panorama.

cheers
Dorin
alert moderator
vrbali

Posted: 16 Jan 2013 at 4:50 GMT
Additionally, it is virtually impossible to make a panorama of dynamic scenes with a normal (rectilinear) zoom lens as things (people etc) are moving around while you are photographing.
alert moderator
Smooth

Posted: 16 Jan 2013 at 6:34 GMT